Our school board is a locally-elected government body that serves as the agent of the state legislature and the representatives of the community in providing a high-quality public education for the students of the school district.

School Board members perform three fundamental functions:

  • Hiring and supervision of the Superintendent
  • Setting board policy
  • Enacting the district’s annual budget.

Additional responsibilities of the School Board include: establishing, equipping, and maintaining school buildings, adopting textbooks, approving the annual school calendar, appointing teachers and administrators and determining salaries, and entering into contracts.

Our school board consists of nine, unpaid members who serve a four-year term. School board elections are held every two years, and the number of seats up for election is staggered, with five seats elected one term, then four seats elected the alternate term.

Voting Members

  • Ruth Ann Schlegel, President
  • Bryan D. Smith, Vice President
  • Diana E. Carpenter
  • Susan A. Dieffenbach
  • Keith W. Donnachie
  • Jane L. Owsiak
  • Jeffrey J. Snyder
  • Diane C. Wuori
  • Joel W. Zug

Non-Voting Members

District Solicitor

District Auditor